Hollyhock Nature Culture Workshop

From June 29 to July 3, I will lead a workshop on Nature Culture at Hollyhock on Cortes Island, British Columbia. Readers of this blog and those of you who have attended my talks and films know that Nature Culture is an emerging philosophy combining conservation, economics, health, local food movement, art, science and more into a new culture that reconnects to our ancient natural heritage. The waters around Cortes are like a second home. I spent early years as a student and park naturalist studying nature in the region including many months immersed among birds on nearby Mitlenatch Island. It was there that I began to hone my skills as a naturalist and where the kernel of an idea began to emerge that became Nature Culture.

At the Hollyhock workshop, I want to take you on a journey of exploration of the world of nature on Cortes Island. You will begin to explore nature on a personal level while learning about the natural history of the Salish Sea. I have been doing this sort for thing for decades and through my professional career as a senior research scientist amassed a storehouse of information that I will share with you. I also intend to show you some simple steps in getting started sketching in the field, and will read a few excerpts from a new book (more on that later). I might even show you our new film. The experiences will be unique and stimulating.

That is what I offer you. If you care to join the workshop, I ask that you are willing to participate in exploring nature, to think BIG, and to offer to help me develop the concept of Nature Culture.

About rob butler

I am a scientist, author and naturalist with over four decades of field study of wild animals. You can read more at my web site at robbutler.ca.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

