150 for 150

Canada celebrates its 150th anniversary on July 1, 2017. I enjoy watching birds so I thought I would have some fun by combining my interest in birds with Canada’s celebration.

I am attempting to identify 150 species of birds by July 1 within the city limits of Vancouver – hence the ‘150 for 150’. As of February 24 my tally was 80 species. There are a few wintering species I hope to add to the list before they depart in spring at which time the fun will begin as waves of migrant species pass through the city.

I have restricted my list to the city limits because I could see over 150 species in a few days in the surrounding area of Vancouver. After all, the Fraser River delta just south of the city is one of the country’s best birding locations.

Several friends have jumped in to see if they can tally 150 by 150 in their cities. I also read that Red Deer naturalists are trying to see 150 species in the year. ThereĀ are no rules except to have fun and get to know our birds.

You can follow the fun on twitter @drrobbutler too.

About rob butler

I am a scientist, author and naturalist with over four decades of field study of wild animals. You can read more at my web site at robbutler.ca.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 150 for 150

  1. Rick says:

    The birders group of the Central Okanagan Naturalists’ Club is also doing a 150 for 150. As of mid-April I know of one birder with 133.

Leave a Reply

